Giada Loves Yoga!

December 3, 2009 at 11:59 am Leave a comment

I’m pleased to present the first “Yoga & Celebrities” post!

This month’s issue of SHAPE magazine (December 2009) features the lovely celebrity chef Giada De Laurentiis!

Readers may be familiar with Giada from her popular Food Network show The Everyday Italian in which Giada brings variations on traditional home style Italian favourites to viewers. Not to mention her four incredible cookbooks I love to drool over while I’m at the bookstore!

This celebrity chef, cookbook author and busy mom (to 21 month old daughter Jade), has turned to yoga to give her energy for her busy schedule and help her to stay centered.

The following is an excerpt from this month’s  interview in which Giada explains how she fits her practice into her busy schedule yoga is a very important ingredient for a Recipe for a Happy Life! 

 

Stretch, knead, then let rest


Before Giada got pregnant, she worked out at the gym all the time. But when her obstetrician warned her to take it a bit slower, she switched to yoga. “I thought, ‘Oh, this will be a good way to stretch,’ but it turned out to be so much more!” she says. “It taught me to breathe, it strengthened my muscles, and it helped me relax.” Giada was so thrilled with the results, she continued to practice after Jade was born. Now, five days a week, a private instructor comes to her house at 4:45 a.m. for an hour-long session before Giada heads to the studio. “If I don’t do it first thing, I simply won’t do it,” she says. “With my crazy schedule, that often means cutting into my sleep. But yoga gives me the energy and focus I need to get through my day. I’m not saying I don’t need a cup of coffee in the afternoon sometimes, but it’s the yoga that definitely keeps me centered.”

Check out the rest of the article from SHAPE and get some great strategies that help keep the celebrity chef balanced and some amazing recipes for the Holiday season!

Yum!

What helps you stay balanced and centered arount the Holiday Season? Is Yoga a part of your Holiday routine?

Entry filed under: Yoga & Celebrities. Tags: , , , .

March 2009 Posture Video: Camel Body, meet Mind. Now be BFF’s.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to The Yoga Girl and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories


