Yoga all year!

January 7, 2010 at 11:02 pm 1 comment

Welcome to 2010!

I was shopping in one of my favourite places this week, Chapters and stumbled across this amazing calendar, also titled Yoga Girl!

The calendar features yogini, model and celebrity from New Zealand Emma Harrison, while she does 12 different postures for each month of the year.

Each month explains the physical and emotional benefits and purpose of each pose. Helpful for a still-learning yogi like myself! It also provides a great visual of what each pose looks like with proper alignment, as the background of each photograph is solid white –  a nice contrast to highlight Emma’s shape in each posture.

Also exciting for me is that I can look at these poses everyday while the calendar hangs on my wall and get inspired and remember how good I feel in my practice. It will remind myself of my own goals, which include being able to get into and “master” more challenging poses such as Crow and Full Camel (both of which I might add, Emma makes look completely effortless in this calendar!).

Emma is also blonde like myself so I secretly pretend it’s me doing the poses. I think that’s actually a tip to attaining your goals through visualization: think something long enough and it becomes a reality. I visualize how good I would feel in each pose and the sense of accomplishment and calm I would feel while in it. I imagine how easy it is for my body to get into the poses, the strength I need to be able to hold myself, the focus and concentration required and the mind-body connection to make it all come together.

Here I come Handstand! There is nothing stopping me now!

The following is an excerpt about the calendar from Emma’s official website: “As a student of yoga for the last 15 years, Emma is excited to have co-created and modeled for The Yoga Girl 2010 calendar, and considers it one of her proudest accomplishments. Emma hopes the calendar will bring yoga to a new and larger audience and she feels privileged to promote a discipline that has brought her considerable joy, enlightenment and good health.”

It really deserves two thumbs up but I was having some issues getting a picture at the same time with both of my thumbs in it.

If you are like me and a little behind the 8 ball on getting a calendar for 2010, check out these other great Yoga Calendars to inspire your 2010 practice!

Entry filed under: Dreams & Goals, Inspiration, Why I Love This!, Yoga & Celebrities, Yoga Stuff. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Good Bye 2009 & Hello 2010! If you set them, they will come…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tom Hadley  |  January 8, 2010 at 6:47 am

    I think you’re right about the visualization, that sort of thing can be very important for goal achievement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to The Yoga Girl and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 12 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories


